Found: Me

Forgive me dear readers for being away for so long. It’s been a long ass week but a good one.

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of last week I attended the Humane Society of the United States Disaster Animal Response Training. It was awesome.

There were about thirty people there, all women except for one man. Most were connected to an animal shelter or rescue group though there were a couple strays such as myself. I didn’t go representing any particular organization though I did view what I learned through the fire department lens. I’ll get into the training tomorrow or Sunday (I have to work on Saturday) to convince you all to 1. Create a disaster plan for all your animals including livestock and pocket pets 2. Contact your local fire department and emergency manager to see what plans they have for your town 3. get involved with CERT or something similar.

Because I was at the seminar all weekend I needed to mess my work schedule up so I wouldn’t have to take any unpaid time. I worked Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday each was a 15 hour day. Believe me when I say I was totally exhausted. I didn’t want to get up this morning but I dragged my sorry ass out of bed merely because Harley insisted on being fed. The nerve of that cat!

Today is usually my day on but I took it off because town meeting is tonight. I *heart* town meeting! The fire department is requesting (for the third year running) the money for a new fire truck. Actually, we have most of the money but still need the town to approve a much smaller amount than what we’ve asked for the last two years. Pray to your favorite deity we get the money!

Anyways I just wanted to check in and let you know I’m not dead. I’ll get back to blogging tomorrowish.

This entry was posted in Beasts, Community Action, Cough/How Do I Look..?, Fire Department, Organizations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Found: Me

  1. peppylady says:

    Glad to see your back on again.

    Coffee is on

Leave a Reply

