Moss Stitch Afghan

Kelly and Brian Moss stitch afghan

I’m not totally sure I did this stitch right but here’s the finished product. I made this for a wedding. It measures 54 inches in height and 80 inches wide. I totally should’ve made it higher because it’s not really tall enough to snuggle under. I just hope the groom isn’t overly tall!

The pattern, which I got off about.com, is K1, K1, P1, P1. In all the books on knitting I have, and a couple google searches, nothing is mentioned about the moss stitch so I wonder if it really exists. From the very beginning I thought I was doing the stitch wrong which is why I tried to research it. I wanted verification but couldn’t find any. Because the wedding is in May I didn’t really have time to search out another knitting project and get the yarn so I just finished it.

In hindsight I should’ve chosen a solid color though, if I had, you’d be able to see the copious mistakes a lot easier. It’s a heavy warm blanket. Overall it came out well and I’m quite pleased.

I have a couple other projects started. I’m working on a patchwork afghan for Wolf (he knows about it) out of all these small balls of yarn given to me by Kim after her grandmother died. I have a fair amount of them done as it easy to work on this project when I’m at work. All the squares are different sizes, colors, and textures, though all have the same stitch (k1, p1) which I’ll sew together when I have enough blocks to make it the size I want it. I have a picture of the squares but it didn’t come out very well. I’ll try again on a sunnier day.

Another project I have going is a sampler afghan. Originally I started this last year for Wolf’s niece. It soon became apparent this was way beyond my skill. I put the project aside and made Jennifer and Laurence something else which you can see over at the old Women Not Dabbling in Normal site. I have a knit date with Gayle on Wednesday to pick up where I left off on the sampler afghan. I decided to give it to Wolf’s mother when it’s done.

I have an account on Ravelry. If you do also put “h0wlinghill” into the search function and you’ll be able to find me.

This entry was posted in Two Sticks and Yarn. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Moss Stitch Afghan

  1. peppylady says:

    Color is real nice and I can were that color. I’ve been embroidery pillow cases now and painting on two piece of ceramics.

    Hoppy easter and (re)new birth of a new spring.

  2. Annette says:

    beautiful blanket!

  3. Allie says:

    That’s beautiful!

  4. Stephany says:

    I think it looks great! I love the color.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Thank you everyone!

Leave a Reply

