Garden

Today I put the rest of the seeds in the garden. Well, except for the tomatoes. I’ll get to that in a second.

I planted beans, beans, and more beans: Kentucky Wonder Pole Beans, Jacob’s Cattle, and Dragon Langere all in the Three Sisters bed. I planted more beans (Vermont Cranberry, and two others I can’t think of off the top of my head) in three different pots.

The cucumbers all went into Bed II: 1 row of Saber Cukes, six rows of National Pickling, and one row of Boston Pickling.

Basil went into Bed VIII, the small square one. I planted the rest of the seed and picked up two basil plants at A Sacred Place yesterday. Wolf and I went to participate in the Beltaine Festival. It was awesome. I’ll talk about that more in another post though.

I put all the squashes (red kuri, winter, summer, and zucchini) into cells so I can give the corn and beans in the Three Sisters a little more time to grow. Last year I made the mistake of plant all three at the same time. Doing so didn’t give the corn enough time to grow tall enough so the beans outpaced the corn almost twofold. Hopefully by planting the beans a whole moon cycle after the corn this problem won’t happen again.

The bed for the tomatoes needs some TLC. I’m waiting for Wolf to be done with the chicken coop — he moved it because we’re fencing it in. It has to get done ASAP because the chickens are at the Gitch’s waiting for us to be ready. — then he’s going to help me dig out the compost pile so I can get the stuff at the bottom to put into the bed. Last year this bed did awful. The tomatoes I planted in it didn’t do anything. I don’t know if it’s the soil or not but I’m willing to bet the soil has a lot to do with what the problem was because it’s “old” soil. You see, a couple years back we bought some soil but it turned out to be dirt. The following year, and the next couple after, we bought organic soil. This particular bed has never had the new soil put into it so that’s why I’m waiting for Wolf to be done so we can scoop from the bottom of the compost pile to add compost to the soil I bought last year, mix it all together, then put it in the bed, then plant the tomato seeds.

This entry was posted in Chickens, Gardenin'. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden

  1. Auntie Shema says:

    Greetings
    Our gardens did pretty lousy last year too, actually I don’t know anyone that had a good harvest. We had so much rain and grey skies in 08 it’s amazing anything grew. Then when the weather finally warmed up and plants dried out and began doin gbetter…WHAM we were hit with a killing frost. My peppers never got larger then peas. This year I’m covering the beds with hoop houses to see if I can extend the season.

    I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit with us for Beltaine. Feel free to stop by sometime to wander the trails, visit the gardens, or sit by the stream.

    *B*B*
    Sue

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Auntie Shema: 45 days of rain will kill any North American garden I think. I hope it doesn’t happen the same way this year!

Leave a Reply

