Roosters and Gardens

So Monty came back on his own. It would seem the enticement of sex overwhelmed his shyness. He’s still wicked skittish around Wolf and I, but now he’s staying in the chicken yard with the Ladies. Wolf saw him mounting one or two of them yesterday.

Monty is still sleeping in the trees not in the coop with the ladies — guess he needs some alone time! After all, managing six women is difficult — but he’s staying within the fence so this please Wolf and I.

We still need a couple broody hens if someone can part with two.

I pulled the Belle Isle from the garden today. One shouldn’t pick on the new moon (today) but I had to plant the squash because it was still in small seed containers. I threw some of the Belle Isle into the chicken yard, they didn’t seem interested. *pout*

It’s been rainy and cloudy here for about 10 days. I guess it’s a Nor’Easter sans snow. Hopefully it’ll blow out in the next day or so because we really need some sun around these parts. It’s almost July and not once has it hit 80*. WTF?

Wolf and I missed the Summer Solstice festivities around these parts. Working every freakin’ Saturday really puts a cramp in my social and spiritual life. And I can look forward to this for another 18 months. Suck-o-la.

Yea, not much to say. Gotta get the pooch ready for our long walk today then I head to the gym then to the Health Center for the annual board meeting. Really all I want to do is eat and veg in front of the boob tube.

This entry was posted in Chickens, Gardenin', Moons, Weatha, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roosters and Gardens

  1. Maggie says:

    Yea, Monty!

    I’m with you, I could really use some sun! At this rate there will not be any tomatoes until October! Meep!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    We’re happy Monty came back on his own. Now to get him in the coop at night…

    Sun came out today for a few minutes. I can see blue Sky poking through the clouds every now and again. If only these clouds would push off…

  3. Karyn says:

    Well this is good news! Today will be a good day for a nice walk, hope you enjoy it.

    I am still looking for hens for you. Seems all the ladies around here are done with motherhood at the moment…

  4. peppylady says:

    Sorry I’m not going to comment. I’m running out of time. Might be back later.
    I did in the know and I like to know. What you eat and drink?

    Coffee is on.

Leave a Reply

