Quail Eggs

So Wolf and I were gifted some quail eggs yesterday. Lee Ann, a woman in my reiki group, has a few quail. Neither Wolf nor I have had quail eggs before so it was an adventure to crack them, cook them, and eat ’em.

IMGP9030

I marveled at the marbling of the shells. Inside the egg is a pretty light robin’s blue. Cracking the eggs wasn’t easy. While the shell is easy enough to crack the membrane just inside the shell is difficult to puncture with your thumb. Opening the egg like you would a chicken egg isn’t easy either both from the membrane and the size.

IMGP9033

The eggs cooked really quickly as you’d expect. Each was a little bigger than a quarter. I had five of the dozen. They didn’t have much taste to be honest. I don’t think the eggs weren’t old so maybe the lack of flavor was the size or the breed.

I’m not sure quail would be a smart investment for us. Certainly they work for Lee Ann and her brood but not, apparently, for Dick Cheney.

This entry was posted in Food, Glorious Food, Politic/ians. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quail Eggs

  1. Karyn says:

    Those are amazing. I have never seen any. They are beautiful, look like the chocolate easter candy don’t they.

    Were they good?

    When I first strarted reading I thought you were going to say you were going to hatch them. I know quail are wonderful to eat but like their eggs it takes a few for a meal.

    A herbal class? Would you like company-I have been looking for one close by for awhile now….

    Enjoy the sun! It will be around all week from what I hear.

    K

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Karyn: yes, amazing! But neither of us really liked the taste so quail are not something we’d invest in.

    There’s a woman in Sanborton who teaches herbalism. Her website is here. I don’t have the time or money right now. Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

