First Frost

Though the area has been getting frost for the last week or so it just creeped up to our yard the other night.The basil is not shot to shit as is the catnip. Damn. I kept meaning to harvest it. Oh well.

Though we didn’t get any snow here on Howling Hill it’s been had in the area. I’m not looking forward to winter.

Turned the heat on. That sucked. Doing so meant winter was upon us. Closing the windows two weeks ago was also hard.

Getting ready to cull the chickens. Wolf plans to do so on Saturday I think.

I’m turning inward like I always do at this time of the year. Instead of fighting the inevitable depression I’m allowing it to come knowing it’ll pass.

School and work are taking all my time and energy. I’m so depleted already and I still have a year to go…

Hope all is well at your blog.

This entry was posted in Chickens, Cough/How Do I Look..?, Deep Thoughts, Edukate Me, Gardenin', Weatha, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Frost

  1. peppylady says:

    Well we had a cold snap a short time ago it got down in the 20’s. But now it been warm and raining here in North Idaho.

    We had quite the snow last year. Personal I could use a break from it. My youngest son got his finger cross for a lot of snow.

    Keep your chin up. Sometime I find it hard to do things lack of sun light.

    Coffee is on.

  2. Hi M,

    Boy doesn’t it seem cold early this year. I am so not ready and understand the feeling of not again! It’s hard when there are so many outside tasks still undone.

    Culling chickens sounds like fun,and a good fall activity. They sure will be yummy later on.

    Keep dodging those snow flakes!

    K

  3. Allie says:

    Our catnip totally bit it before I could dry any. This was not my year for productive gardening. . .

  4. Maggie says:

    Sheep have had frost on their backs several mornings now. They don’t seem to notice under all that wool.

    I did harvest swiss chard out of the garden for supper last night. I was impressed with all the recent growth. The rabbits have been loving all the kale too….

    Crossing my fingers that we still have a few weeks with none of that white flakey stuffs!

    See you Sunday!

Leave a Reply

