No Poo Week 50 Something

Last year — actually, it was in 2008 — I decided to give up on chemical shampoos. I really hated putting gasoline on my head everyday so I slowly weaned from daily shampooing to once a week. Then I gave up the chemicals all together. I was pretty apprehensive to be honest. After all, I’d been shampooing and conditioning my hair for as long as I’d been alive (ok, my mother did it in the beginning). Change is hard, I admit.

It’s been a year since I used a chemical shampoo and conditioner on my hair. My hair has grown significantly since then too. It’s now to the small of my back making it about 2 feet long from root to end. And you know what? My hair is *awesome*! It’s soft and smooth, it’s pretty strong, and people comment on how healthy and soft it looks when I have it down (which isn’t often to be honest). I still only wash it once a week though I do wet it down when I take a shower each day.

The way I clean my hair now came from Melinda over at One Green Generation. I’ve modified the recipe slightly to accommodate the length of my hair: I started out with the simple method but now I use the paste method though I still put the baking soda in a canning jar (half pint). I fill the jar about 1/3 full with baking soda then add a bit of water to make it a paste.

I’ve used both white vinegar and apple cider as conditioner. There’s been no difference that I noticed. I’ve used a variety of different scents which Wolf generally picks out. I didn’t particularly like the way rose smelled and lavender, while nice and relaxing, was waaaaay to relaxing and left me tired for a week so I haven’t used that again. There was one scent he didn’t like…I think it was jasmine.

Overall it’s been a very successful experiment. I won’t be going back to chemical shampoo and conditioners at all.

Oh, I should say this: the only real issue I’ve had is with dandruff. It’s never been wicked bad or anything (no one has said a word to me, not Wolf, friends, nor my employer) but I did have some. I “fixed” the problem by drinking more water and by giving my head a more of a scrub with my fingers and the baking soda paste.

Congratulations to Melinda for making WE Magazine’s 101 Women Bloggers to Watch in 2010!

This entry was posted in Beauty Products. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Poo Week 50 Something

  1. Melinda says:

    Hooray!! I’m so glad! I had a bit of dandruff as well – only in the winter. I’ve also fixed the problem – drinking water makes a big difference. I also gave myself a pure jojoba oil treatment which helped considerably.

  2. Chan says:

    Congrats on the success of your experiment!! I had wondered how that would work and how it was going. Hope everything else in your neck of the woods is going well. I haven’t been able to read much, been busier than a one armed paper hanger! Life here’s good. All my best. Chan

  3. Allie says:

    That’s really great that it has worked for you so well! I didn’t have the patience to make it past the adjustment phase, but maybe I’ll give it another go.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Melinda: I’m glad too! I didn’t think of the jojoba oil treatment, that’s something I’ll have to try.

    Chan: Thanks! Life has been pretty busy here too. Mostly I’ve been blogging about the weather. Not particularly interesting I know.

    Allie: you should totally give it a try!

  5. Pingback: Things I’ve Learned from The Greenists

Leave a Reply

