Spring Walkabout

One of the primary reasons I blog is to document the seasonal changes in my yard. I like that blogging is interactive because often I feel what’s the point of writing if no one reads it? I know there are lots of authors who prefer solitude amongst whom wrote one of my most beloved books. Sadly, I have not read anything else by him.

Anyways, I like to look around my yard and document what I see. I like that someone reads Howling Hill. I like the interactiveness of a blog.

Today I took my first little walkabout (see definition number 2) the yard today to visit my plant relatives, those who slept all winter long. Honestly it’s not been a bad winter. We’ve had our storms but nothing major to speak of — we kept our power in the last storm and didn’t see that much more snow. — but to have spring come early is just so awesome! The last couple winters were so long and cold, this one was a nice winter. And now we’re having an awesome spring. I can’t tell you how overjoyed I am!

The other day I noticed a couple crocuses coming up at the southwest corner of the trailer. They are a bit bigger today. The blackberries in front of the trailer are thicker along with the lilacs in the northeast corner of the yard. The blackberries along the eastern border are coming in awesome. Lots of new growth and out wider though not filling in. The strawberries looked ok where I could see them but most of the yard is still covered by snow. Sun has been warm but the warm air hasn’t penetrated the thick pine trees around the property. Sun is what’s heating the house now. I’ve had the doors and windows open all day just airing out the winter webs.

Wolf cleared out the growth left in the buckets (oregano, spinach, catnip, beans, basil, chives) to make way for new growth. The garden beds are still frozen, half of them still under snow. A couple more days like today and the snow will be gone. I want to get the spinach in the ground as soon as I can, the same with the carrots.

Oh the promise of a new spring! I am so energized and filled with warm Sun and Air.

The Equinox and Beltane are coming soon. Wolf and I plan on being at A Sacred Place for Beltane. We went last year and had a fab time. Can’t wait for this year!

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?, Deep Thoughts, Gardenin', Weatha, Wheel of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring Walkabout

  1. Judy says:

    We still have snow here but the Southern slopes are clear now. I was excited to find green moss and a wild rose beginning to bud on my walkabout today. I’m hoping to start a small bed on the South side of the house where we have good sun exposure for some early greens- even though I can’t really plant anything in my big garden until April at the earliest.
    Happy Gardening.

  2. Allie says:

    It is so wonderful to think about spring, isn’t it? I could do without the mud, but the sun is super nice.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Judy: I was jumping for joy when I saw the crocuses! We can’t do much planting besides the carrots and spinach here either. It’s probably too soon for the two but I’m experimenting.

    Allie: yes!

  4. Maggie says:

    There are a number of things that can be planted here in NE 4+ weeks before last frost (figure mid-march) – asparagus, broad beans, broccoli, Brussel sprouts, cabbage, horseradish, leeks, lettuce, onions, peas, spinach & turnips! I’d wait until at least the beginning of April for the carrots though. Raised beds can be started about a week in advance, but you probably cancel that out up on Howling Hill with all the shade…

    My fingers are *itching*!!!!!

  5. Howling Hill says:

    We have onions, leeks, and spinach — all seed. Garlic went in last fall. I’ve heard you can put all the veggies you listed plus carrots in the fall. I plan on doing it this year with seed. We’ll see how next year turns out.

    Me too!!

  6. Maggie says:

    I’ll tell you what – we let lettuce go to seed one fall and it came up in the spring bigger and better than anything I ever Spring planted! In raised beds like yours, that might be a neat experiment!

  7. Howling Hill says:

    As I understand it, because those you listed are cold loving/hardy, if you plant the seed in the fall they will come up early in the year. I totally can’t wait to try it this fall!

Leave a Reply

