Neglecting My Blog

It’s obvious I’ve been neglecting my blog of late. School and work took up all my energy. When I did get down time all I wanted to do was zone out in front of the boob tube and/or sleep so blogging became something I put aside. No longer I say.

If you’re still reading HH you’ll note we have a lot of changes going on here. Let me explain. I decided to withdraw from the class I was taking. There were lots of reasons for me to withdraw but the biggest reason was I couldn’t afford to stay in school any longer. The class was taking so much time that I had to keep cutting my hours at work to keep up with the course load and clinical time. Without my income Wolf had to get a second job but we fell behind — way, way behind — in our bills and couldn’t catch back up. I can’t get the hours I gave up at work which is really ok with me because I don’t really like working there. I work well below my skill and education level so it’s time for me to acknowledge there are no jobs for me in NH and move to the Boston area where I can find sustainable employment that pays me a living wage. More than a living wage so we can get out of this suffocating and depressing debt.

At the same time my in laws started to have a hard time. Maintaining their house was something they couldn’t do any longer. Getting to doctors appointments is difficult, especially if the doctor is not in the city they live in. My father in law has been hospitalized twice since January. My mother in law is fretting something awful because none of her children live near her.

A symbiotic relationship was born. Consequently we’re selling Howling Hill and moving into Wolf’s old bedroom July 4th weekend.

I’ve been trying to clean up the trailer as much as possible. I have to go through everything and decide what we’re taking with us (not too much actually) and what’s getting Freecycled/yardsaled. Lots of stuff has already been given away but it’s time for more stuff to go.

The hardest part of all this is having to find a new home for Athena. I have a lead on one for her but we’ll see. I’m not too keen on young guys with apartments taking her but if she connects with him tomorrow then we will relinquish her.

I thought about what to do with this blog and I think I’m going to keep it. Obviously it’ll turn into an urban homesteading blog though I won’t be able to do much homesteading. It’s not my house and I won’t be able to do anything — including cook — to make green changes. All I’ll be able to do is make changes in my own behavior. And, of course, that’s not a bad thing.

This entry was posted in Edukate Me, Grindstone, Mi Familia, Movin', Urban Homesteadin'. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neglecting My Blog

  1. Sometimes changes happen for a reason and this sounds very exciting to me for you. I bet your inlaws will be more than happy to let you make their home yours too. You will be surprized once you are there.

    I will be watching to see the changes.

    How is your garden growing so far?

  2. Stephanie says:

    oh man, that sucks. So sorry to hear it, I hope the inlaws find a way to broaden their minds green living-wise. I know that battle well, it has taken me three years and a city charging for waste disposal to get recycling and composting implemented here.

    ++++ and best wishes on your new journey, sorry about Athena, Alexa sends her condolences too, she cant imagine having to find homes for her beloveds.

  3. Howling Hill says:

    Yes, I agree sometimes things happen for a reason. I just wish it wasn’t happening now. But, of course, if it wasn’t now it’d be some other time…

    Stephanie: so sorry to hear about Alexa. We’ll keep you and her in our prayers.

    We’re not moving in with the in laws, we’ll be finding our own place. This is good because it was keeping me up at night. I recognized we’d have problems with the cats and food (in general) and couldn’t figure out a solution. It’s better we find our own place.

    Athena is going to her new home today and I’m shattered.

Leave a Reply

