Hot Line

Wolf and I continue to clean the trailer and purging lots of stuff I didn’t know we had. Honestly, I’m surprised at how much we managed to store in this trailer. Kinda frightening actually.

One of the things I came across was a 45 of The Sylvers “Hot Line.” I’ve kept it with me through more moves than I can count despite not having a record player and knowing, KNOWING, the record is so scratched it can’t be played. The question begs to be asked: Why have I kept it all these years?

Sentimental value. Linda and Laurel, my red-headed twin maternal aunts, gave to me when I was a toddler because I *loved* LOVED LOVED LOVED the song. I would shake my four year old bootie around as I sang the chorus, bopping around the house in my underwear.

I threw away the 45 because it was a little ridiculous for me to be carting around a record, the first record I ever owned!, I knew I couldn’t play. I wrote down the name of the band and the song so I could listen to it on YouTube. Ah, YouTube, how did we ever survive without you?

Oh how I wished my hair could be in a perfect afro halo! How I wished I had siblings to sing and dance with like Donnie and Marie, The Jackson 5, The Partridge Family, and, of course, The Sylvers!

This entry was posted in Movin', Tunes, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

