This Common Secret: My Journey as an Abortion Doctor

I just finished reading This Common Secret: My Journey as an Abortion Doctor by Susan Wicklund.

The book didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know but it certainly reinforced my belief that abortion and reproductive health care need to be federally protected. What I would like is a constitutional amendment protecting abortion and birth control.

Dr. Wicklund is now one of my girl crushes. Despite fearing for her life she went to work every day to provide women the abortions they wanted. She continued to provide health care to patients regardless of their ability to pay. This makes an American heroine in my book.

The book is a first person narrative based on her recollections. I would’ve like to hear more stories about her patients and less about her ailing parents. Not that I don’t find ailing parents important or boring, but I felt it detracted just a small amount for the basic tenor of the book: abortion. Of course Dr. Wicklund talked about the most marginalized: the victim of rape, another of incest, the drug addict and there were stories of the middle class woman who didn’t want to be pregnant, the antis who came in for abortions despite being, you know, antis.

The antagonistic side me of wanted the clinic to throw the pregnant antis out on their asses. It made me want to stalk and terrorize the terrorizers by putting up pictures of them in their hometowns, write letters to the editors, barricade them in their homes. It’s in such situations I do believe in eye for an eye. But stooping to their level isn’t a good idea and I respect Dr. Wicklund for not doing so. And I cheered her when she did confront the ignorant fascist antis.

All in all it’s a great book and I recommend you read it especially if you don’t believe in abortion rights. You’ll learn a thing or two.

Dr. Wicklund talking about the murder of her colleague Dr. George Tiller.

This entry was posted in Girl Crush, Pages, Wealthcare, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

