Green Drain Cleaner

Over the last couple years I’ve heard vinegar and baking soda work very well as a drain cleaner. Today I got to test the theory.

The tub drain gets clogged periodically from Wolf’s body hair and my head hair — between the two of us I think you could create a whole new person! To unclog it Wolf usually just starts pulling the hair out with tweezers. This takes a while and is really, really gross.

Today, I put a small amount (couple tablespoons-ish) into the drain then poured some apple cider vinegar over it. It bubbled. A lot. Then I added more vinegar and it bubbled a lot. Then I ran the hot water for a minute but it didn’t go down the drain so I added more vinegar and more bubbles occurred. I did this until it stopped bubbling. Then I turned on the hot water. I had to pull the gross hair out with some tweezers. Lastly, as a precaution I added more baking soda and vinegar and the drain was working appropriately.

So, my test of the theory is it works great. It takes less time than the drain-o crap, is less toxic, and cleans the tub and the silver drain in the process!

This entry was posted in Saving Our Glorious Earth, Trailer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Green Drain Cleaner

  1. courtney says:

    Yep, I’ve tried this too and it works great! Just FYI, it works even better if you let the baking soda and vinegar sit for about a half-hour, then flush it with some boiling water. That’ll keep your drain nice and clean for a long while.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks for the tip Courtney!

  3. Pingback: What’s Going On

  4. Pingback: DIY – No Unsacred Place

  5. Pingback: Bikes and Brakes and Drains Oh My!

Leave a Reply

