Dressings

So I got a little adventurous in the kitchen today. I made pesto and green goddess dressing. Both came out … ok.

The green goddess dressing recipe is one I googled a while ago though I don’t remember where it came from. I had to heavily modify it to make it palatable.

2 cups mayo (I used one)
4 minced anchovy fillets (I used 8)
1 green onion (used 1/4 of a yellow)
2 teaspoons parsley (I used cilantro)
2 teaspoons chives
1 tablespoon tarragon vinegar (I used 2)
Sour creme to taste
Butter milk to taste
small handful of spinach

Then I threw it in the blender.

Edited to add: Wolf and I put this dressing on a green salad he made for dinner last night. It turned out much better than I originally thought. Maybe I just needed to not taste it or maybe it needed to be in the fridge for a while. Wolf really liked it too.

The pesto

Olive oil
garlic scapes
spinach
almonds (I didn’t have any pine nuts)
garlic
cilantro

threw it in the blender. It’s a little heavy on the garlic but that’ll keep the vampires away tonight.

Edited to add: I haven’t tried this yet, I will with my lunch today. I’ll put it on some of the bread we got from the CSA yesterday.

One thing I realized is when it comes to pesto and hummos, I’m a traditionalist. I don’t like it when those recipes are mucked with. I found myself a traditional pesto recipe and will make that the next time. It’s one I’ve had before so I know I like it.

This entry was posted in Food, Glorious Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dressings

  1. Jason Phelps says:

    We are members of LocalHarvest in NH as well. Pretty cool stuff. I haven’t used my scapes yet this week, but I can’t wait to try them!

    I am finishing up my blog on eating local right now, check out our site tomorrow to see what we are up to.

    Jason

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Very cool stuff, Jason! Thanks for dropping by. How did you find Howling Hill?

  3. Pingback: CSA Week 2 « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

