Garlic Scape Pesto

Last week at the Laconia farmers market (or maybe it was the week before) I got a recipe for pesto from Karen who runs the Sustainable Sustenance. She got it from Lisa one of the regulars at the Sustainable.

Today I made the recipe.

13-15 scape (I used 12 because that’s how many I had)
2/3 cup Parmesan Cheese (had to use the store kind)
1/3 c pine nuts or walnuts (used the latter)
1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Juice from 1/2 lemon
Sea salt (skipped this)

Rinse scapes in cold water and pat dray. Cut into 2: pieces and place in food processor bowl. Add cheese and nuts and process until just coarse. With processor running, slowly pour in olive oil and blend until smooth (couldn’t do this because my processor won’t run if there’s no top. Instead I pour a little in at a time and blended in between). Add lemon juice and blend well. Add salt to taste. Makes about 2 1/2 cups.

It came out ok. Definitely not as good as the sample I tried at the farmers market. The one I made is too cheesy–too powder cheesy so next time I’ll use half the cheese it calls for.

Living in New England makes it hard for this recipe to be made with local ingredients. Last time I checked there weren’t any olive trees around nor any lemon trees.

This entry was posted in Food, Glorious Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

