A Weekend of Baking

Hello, everyone, Wolf here. I’m back for my occasional post on something Wolf-related. As you can see by the title, I’ve been doing some baking (with HH’s help.)

OK, let’s start:

Saturday night I made pizza. I have to say I’m really enjoying the fresh tomatos and greens, instead of sauce and meat. It makes for a much lighter pizza. I also added goat cheese, mozzarella, chives and pesto.

The mozzarella burned a bit. I think I might just do all goat next time.

Here we have some cookies, a whole lot of cookies. Oatmeal Raisin (which HH made), Ginger and Carob Chip. Carob Chip, you ask? It was supposed to be Chocolate Chip but I decided to try something different and I am glad I did! They are awesome! Much better than choco-chip. I had never heard of Carob before but I found them in the store (kinda pricey) and I had to try them.

This was an interesting recipe from our “Baking” book: Welsh Clay Pot Loaves. Typical bread recipe but with a lot of herbs. I used chives, sage, parsley and garlic. Clay pots are really cheap, so if you eff up, like I did, no biggie. I’m still going to try and salvage the pots, but I have extras just in case. I think I need to “cure” the pots, like I did with the pizza stone. Any suggestions?

I actually made butter earlier in the week but I felt the need to add it here. It came out pretty well. I just need to figure out how to keep it a bit softer. After it had been refrigerated, it got pretty hard. Not stick-butter hard but “cut-with-a-knife-and-it-crumbles-apart” hard. Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Food, Glorious Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Weekend of Baking

  1. Pingback: CSA Week 4 « Howling Hill

  2. Hey there Wolf!

    Everything looks tasty – hope you were baking in the middle of the night – it’s been so hot! I have used the clay pots before for bread baking and my first run was just like yours – stuck good. Lube the inside liberally with shortening. After a few times the pot will season itself, becoming less porous and hence things will come out easier. It makes for a fun shape and the heat distributes through the clay nicely!

    I usedto use them for catering events to make individual breads. Yum!

  3. Oh, and the butter thing –

    1: Did you wash it before storing?
    2: The best was to store is covered in cold water, that might help keep a better consistancy for you!

    I’m planning on making some this weekend. Did you save you buttermilk for baking? Yum!

Leave a Reply

