Homemade Mayonnaise

Last week Wolf made some mayo that was really gross. Neither of us could bring ourselves to eat it so we dumped it down the sink (dog, we hate to waste like that!). I meant to add mayo to the grocery shopping list but it slipped my mind. Yesterday when I reached for the mayo for egg salad sandwich I dropped a bunch of eff bombs when I realized we had none. So for lunch I had two hard boiled eggs.

This morning I got off my duff and made some. I got the recipe from Cooking for Engineers after a google search of “mayonnaise.”

It’s a little on the salty side so next time I’ll add less of it.

It’s yellow because of the egg yolks. I don’t know what they do to produce mayo for the grocery store but I don’t think I can ever eat the processed shit again. Now that I know what color mayo should be the white stuff just won’t do.

Edited to add: I made myself the egg salad sandwich I wanted yesterday. I boiled the eggs and mashed them up into a bowl, sans shells. I put a couple teaspoons of the mayo into the egg to make it adhere. It has a much thinner consistency than the store bought stuff so it’s more like a ranch dressing. The taste was really subtle. I thought the salt would be overpowering but I didn’t notice it in the sandwich. As a matter of fact, I barely noticed there was any mayo in the sandwich that’s how subtle it is. ‘Tis cool with me since I’ve never been a big fan of mayo.

I’ll let you know how it tastes when I make blue cheese dressing. That calls for mayo.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Mayonnaise

  1. My husband made homemade mayo a couple years ago that also turned out pretty gross. I guess I need to try it again! Other than the saltiness, was the Cooking for Engineers recipe a success?

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Yes it was, Sarah. I recommend it!

Leave a Reply

