CSA Week 5

This weeks CSA arrived last night. Wolf and I were, of course, very excited.

The loot includes

  • Red potatoes
  • Summer squash
  • Lettuce
  • Mixed bag of greens
  • Tomatoes
  • Arugula
  • Broccoli
  • Peas
  • Cardamon Bread

Regarding the arugula, I gave it to the chickens like I did last week. Maybe it’s too hot, or maybe it’s the humidity, or maybe it’s just the way arugula is, but it goes limp as soon as it comes into the house. Unless someone has a idea what to do with limpy arugula, Wolf is going to put whatever we’re given onto the swap table. Not that I feel we’re wasting it. The chickens certainly enjoy it!

The lettuce is getting a little much I have to admit. I don’t want to have to swap that out too though. I guess it’s salad all the time from now on!

Meal planning has taken a turn for us. Before we used to do it on the weekend then we’d go shopping on Sundays. Because the CSA comes in on Wed we’re having to change our meal planning day. We also have to change the manner in which we plan. The way we used to do it is to go through our recipe books and pick out a meal then buy the ingredients for it. Now we have to pick out meals according to what we have on hand. This is taking some getting used to. We definitely need to grow some new neuron paths in order to do so effectively! The CSA is also making us a bit more adventurous in the kitchen. We’re using our brains in a ways we haven’t before. It’s quite a fun challenge actually!

Mandy at A Serving of Life posted this little tidbit on eating cauliflower:

…when you roast it – a little olive oil, salt and pepper, bake in a 450 degree oven for about 30 minutes – it is wonderfully crunchy and creamy all at once.

We didn’t get any cauliflower but we did get broccoli so I might try it prepared this way. I’m not a big fan of cooked broccoli but it’s something worth trying. I may finish off the pattypan squash the same way.

This entry was posted in Chickens, Food, Glorious Food, Local Foods. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CSA Week 5

  1. I’m so jealous that you get bread in your CSA!

    Regarding the meal planning adjustment – this is my first year subscribing to a CSA and I went through the same thing. I’m on week 9, though, so maybe you just have a few weeks to go for your adaptation is complete.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    It was an option so we took advantage of it. It increased the amount by a lot but totally worth it to have fresh bread!

    This is our first year too. You’re right it takes some time to adjust.

  3. Sounds like this is working out very well with a bit of planning. How about adding some of that lettuce and arugula to a smoothie? You can add 30-40% veggies to it and not really notice. Esp if you use banana or strawberry…

    Are you doing okay with the heat?

  4. Taylor says:

    That is the ONLY way I eat broccoli anymore! It is delicious roasted in a hot oven- not too long, though. I usually only do mine for 20 minutes. It’s especially divine with some parmesean cheese tossed over it.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Karyn: I have been adding greens to smoothies though not that many. It’s a good idea, thanks!

    Not doing well in this heat at all. How bout you and yours?

    Taylor: I like broccoli cold (which is how I like most veggies) so for me to cook it is different. I didn’t do it yet, though.

  6. Glenn makes a pizza at work that has arugala on it… it might be a good way to deal with limpness… it doesn’t matter on the pizza because it gets cooked. Very tasty.

Leave a Reply

