Mexican Style Stuffed Zucchini

Yesterday when I posted the contents of this weeks CSA I stated Wolf planned to make the Mexican Style Stuffed Zucchini. Well, he did. It was one of the best he’s made to date.

As you can see, the zucchini was huge. Neither Wolf nor I could finish a whole one so we cut our portions in half. He took his to work with him for lunch. I will have mine as lunch also.

We’re getting much better about eating leftovers. It’s not something either of has done with gusto in the past but spending as much on the CSA as we did, throwing leftovers out isn’t feasible. Cooking for two isn’t easy. First, most recipes are written for four or more. Second, Wolf tends to think big when it comes to cooking. Third, I’m more of a bulk cooker than a maintenance cooker so occasionally I push him to cook more than we need. When I was working full time this wasn’t as big a deal as it is now because I took leftovers for lunch. Now that I’m home I tend to not want what I had the night before. I’m learning to get over it.

Night snacking is our weaknesses as individuals and as a couple. We made the decision earlier this week there will be no more nachos at night. We are also making a conscious effort to only have one small snack each. Last night I had two oatmeal cookies and Wolf had two ginger cookies. No more will we be eating cookies, ice creme (even if they are homemade), and nachos then going to bed.

The ingredients came from a variety of places, mostly within 20 miles of home.

Ingredients from our garden:

  • Scallions
  • Onions
  • Crushed tomatoes (canned last year)

Ingredients from the CSA:

  • Tomatoes (salsa)
  • Red leaf lettuce (salad)
  • Bread

Ingredients from the Farmers Market

  • Cucumber

Ingredients from someone else’s garden

  • Zucchini

Ingredients from the store

  • Goat cheese
  • Red peppers
  • Rice
  • Beans
This entry was posted in Food, Glorious Food, Local Foods. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mexican Style Stuffed Zucchini

  1. looks tasty! It’s hard to get the in-laws to eat vegetarian meals, but I bet you could add lean ground pork or something to the stuffing mixture.

    I’m a fan of mexican style rice & beans, so I”ll have to give this one a try!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    This is an easily adapted recipe. Chicken would be nice in it too me thinks.

  3. I love this take on zucchini! In our house, we’re big veggie fans but it’s always nice to find a new recipe you can really use. We end up with quite a bit left over whenever our eyes gleam fresh-picked zucchini. (Eyes bigger than the stomach syndrome, I suppose!) Anyway, thanks for sharing!

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Thanks for stopping by missinsidegirl. How did you find me?

Leave a Reply

