The Botany of Desire

Wolf and I watched The Botany of Desire the other night. Though I had given him the book a couple years ago, Wolf said he couldn’t get into it. Now that he’s watched the movie he said he’ll try the book again.

It was a very informative documentary. We both learned a lot about apples, tulips, cannabis, and potatoes. I found it a bit odd the first three came from central Asia while the potatoes came from South America. It’s as if the rest of the world didn’t have anything of substance to offer.

Did you know there used to be 7000 varieties of apples? Most of those varieties were grown for cider (the intoxicating kind) which was a contributing factor to the Temperance Movement. Now only a handful are grown for our consumption. There are thousands of varieties of potatoes also but, because of monoculture, only a few are grown. I said to Wolf I wanted to get my hands on some of the other varieties of potato so we can grow them. I’m not sure how to get some of the Andean potatoes but I don’t want to be growing the same thing over and over again. I want variety in my diet!

It was a very enlightening documentary in which I learned about apples, tulips, cannabis, and potatoes. I highly recommend it! On my 1-10 scale it gets an 8.

This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

