CSA Week 8

There’s a story in my family about a peach tree. One grew outside my bedroom window. It was big and glorious, producing lots of peaches. Dad felt the peach tree was dangerous (all those bees) so he cut the peach tree down. It’s one of the few memories I have of Dad (who passed when I was wee) and, unfortunately, it’s a memory in which I was angry at him. I didn’t want him to cut down the peach tree. I wanted it to stay because I loved peaches.

Ma has another peach story she likes to tell. When she took me food shopping I always wanted the peaches.

Her: You don’t like peaches.
Me: yes I do.
Her: no you don’t!
Me: yes I do!
Her: sigh

She’d buy the peaches and then give me one. I would immediately whine “they’re fuzzy” and drop the sweet fruit. She’d say “I told you you didn’t like them.”

Thing is, I do like them. I a lot. I’d go as far as to say I *LOVE* peaches. I just won’t touch them. Someone has to peel the peach for me then I will put the sweet-tart, juicy fruit in my mouth and have a mouth-gasm as I slowly chew the peach.

Last night I got to have this experience. Wolf brought home peaches from the CSA. I went out to run an errand and when I got back there was a peeled peach cut in half for me to enjoy. I wanted something creamy but we didn’t have any so I put a smidge (just a smidge. Less than an 1/8 of a teaspoon) of maple syrup from Maggie Mae Farm and I was in mouth heaven. It was so good I started humming.

Other CSA goodies include

  • Tomatoes (4)
  • Potatoes (bunch)
  • Cucumber (2)
  • Zucchini (2)
  • Carrots (bunch)
  • Red leaf lettuce
  • Unidentified green
  • Zucchini bread with whole spelt flour

It seems to be a week filled with more local goodness than Wolf and I know what to do with!

Today is farmers market day. I’ll be heading to Laconia first then Plymouth. Usually I do it the other way but I have to drop off some eggs to a customer in Tilton. I might get some lamb when I’m in Laconia, I don’t know. Otherwise I have a list of stuff I need to get including onions, basil, garlic, tomatoes, and … um … something else.

This entry was posted in Food, Glorious Food, Local Foods, Mi Familia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CSA Week 8

  1. Sounds like a good week! Sorry I’m missing it. I cut my peaches into thin slices; that way, the fuzzi skin doesn’t bother me at all. They’re so worth it.

  2. Millions of peaches, peaches for me….Oh I love the peaches. G is anti-fuzz as well, but I’ll take ’em any way I can get them. There is one lonely gallon bag left of the peaches I peeled, halved and froze last year. Good to know that they are starting to ripen so I can replenish my supply!

    I brought home some plums (reds and yellows) from the Canterbury market last night… oh the mouth-joy!

  3. Pingback: CSA Week 9 « Howling Hill

Leave a Reply

