CSA Weeks 9 & 10

Vegetables from the CSA arrived yesterday. To say we’re inundated with veg is an understatement. We have so much food I don’t know what we’re going to do. Well, I do. We’re going to eat. And eat well!

Here’s the list for this week.

  • Corn (6)
  • Cucumbers (4)
  • Zucchini (2)
  • Potatoes (a ton!)
  • Squash (1) it’s not a pattypan but something similar
  • Carrots (2 bunches)
  • Peppers (11 green 1 white-ish)
  • Tomatoes (4)
  • Beets (3)
  • Bag of green beans (2)
  • Red Lettuce
  • Green Lettuce
  • Bok Choy (I think that’s the unidentified green from last week.)
  • Mashed potato sourdough bread (2)

This week we have more than most weeks because we doubled up on the order. We’re leaving on Saturday for our annual vacation in York, Maine. (I can’t link to a post about York from 2009 because it seems I didn’t write one. Effing school taking over my life!) The policy of the CSA we belong to is you can skip a week without issue. The choices of what to do with your share for that week include 1. Donating it to the homeless 2. Doubling up 3. Just skipping. As much as I wanted to donate it I didn’t see how that was cost effective for us. We’d have to buy what we gave away so it seemed smarter to double up.

What’s nice about me being a food hoarder/overbuyer of food is I don’t think we’ll be spending much on groceries up there. We have chicken from Maggie Mae Farm, lamb from a local place (whose name I can’t remember for the life of me), and, of course, tons of veggies. Tonight I’m heading up to Plymouth to get some yogurt, milk, and bacon though I may skip that if I can find a local place in Maine.

Not having to buy groceries means we can spend more money on things like clams and lobsters! Well, Wolf doesn’t really like clams and lobsters so that means MORE FOR ME! I’m just hoping we can find a place where we can buy seafood from “the docks.”

This entry was posted in Edukate Me, Food, Glorious Food, Local Foods, Traveling Woman. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CSA Weeks 9 & 10

  1. Nice that you’ll be able to take it all with you and not have to spend much money on food up there. Enjoy the ocean and your lobster!

  2. Howling Hill says:

    It is very nice we can take food with us.

    I found the listing for the York Farmers Market so we’re going to leave early on Saturday morning so we can get to the market earilyish. Want to get some milk, butter, lamb chops, and yogurt.

Leave a Reply

