She Works Hard for the Money

For the last two weeks I’ve been temping at a nonprofit in Boston. I’ve been enjoying it though I wish I had a little more work. It’s a part time job, five hours a day, four days a week. However, I know the goddess has been looking out for me because she knows my brain shuts down when exhausted.

You see, I’m taking the bus from Concord to Boston four days a week. This keeps me from having to drive in the treacherous Boston traffic — and getting clutch knee — but I’m still getting up far earlier than I like. I have to be on the 7a bus to get to Boston by 9 which means I’m getting up around 5a, and still most days I make it just in time. I get the 3:15 bus back to Concord and get to the station around 5:30ish. It’s still almost an hour from the bus station to HH. Despite the short work day it’s still a long day for me overall.

For the last few months, I’ve said the same prayer over and over:

Great Mother Goddess
My need is great
But your power is greater
Please bequeth me a job in Boston making a living wage.
From this book

Like I said, this is a temp assignment. I’ll be here until the end of June (I think) if I don’t find a fulltime job before hand. I like it here so I don’t want to leave but if something comes my way…well, who am I to disregard the Goddess, ESPECIALLY when she’s answering my prayers?

Since working here my nightly prayer has changed slightly. Now instead of asking for a job I ask for someone to buy our house. Wolf and I are ready to move to Boston and start urban homesteading. In order to do so I need to be working full time and/or HH has to sell.

Over the last few months I’ve been so focused on finding a job I wasn’t asking the Goddess to find new people to live at our home. Now I am. Whenever I find my mind wandering I chant the above prayer.* After all, the Goddess sent me the exact type of job I wanted at the amount of hours she knew I could handle. I trust she’ll find new people to live on HH who will love it as much as Wolf and I do.

*I’m thinking of getting prayer beads to do so. If you have some handmade ones you’d like to trade for one of my knitted items, please comment or email me.

This entry was posted in Movin', Prayers, Urban Homesteadin', YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

