Where Have I Been?

Boston mostly.

Finally I found a job. Well, sorta. I’m temping at a nonprofit in Boston. I’d like it to turn into a permanent position…

I’ve been taking the bus down to Beantown. The commute is long and tiring. Sleeping is what I do on the bus, well, I try to. Often someone is on their phone or chatting up the next person so sleeping isn’t always an available option. Besides the other humans, I quite like taking the bus. I don’t have to pay for gas, tolls, or parking, nor I don’t have to worry about clutch knee.

Being on the computer all day combined with the long ride has left me pretty drained. Fridays, my day off, I sleep till 10 then putz around the house. Getting chores done is nearly impossible and so is knitting and writing. After all, my wrists and fingers are killing me after 4 days of nonstop computer use.

I have been writing on The Greenists and No Unscared Place so it’s not as if I haven’t been writing at all. Also, working has started to crack the shell of depression I’ve been encased in for almost a year. During that time I didn’t write much, rarely took photos, barely walked or hiked. Mostly I just watched TV as a way to pass the time.

In real estate news there is no news to tell. Howling Hill is still on the market so if you know someone who is looking to buy in central New Hampshire let me know and I’ll send you a link to HH (serious inquires only please!)

Gardening news is slim. Wolf planted some onions and potatoes. Scallions came up voluntarily this year which was a nice surprise. The herbs are doing well too.

We have six chickens now living with us and giving us lovely brown eggs. Of course Wolf and I love having chickens and are glad we did so again this year. We’re hoping to be able to take them with us when we move. That depends on which city in the Boston area provides us a home. If the city outlaws chickens then, obviously, we can’t take them with us but it the city has no such laws then we will.

A bear (or maybe more) has been in our chicken coop a couple times. S/he took down part of the fence to get to the feed but otherwise left the chickens alone. I had a word with my neighbor who leaves suet out for the birds and asked her not to since the bear(s) took one of hers down and left it in our yard.

PJ is our newest member of the HH family. We adopted this lovely cat from my cousin last weekend. “PJ” doesn’t stand for anything that we know of so if you have any ideas let me know. I’m thinking the “P” stands for Phineas but still don’t know about the “J”.

The weather has been nuts the last couple months. Spring just never really came. It snow until April then rained for almost three weeks. Warm days have been few and far between. It’s been cold enough I’ve had to turn on the heat in May and June! Never, ever has that happened.

That’s all I can think of right now…

This entry was posted in Beasts, Chickens, Cough/How Do I Look..?, Gardenin', Grindstone, Homesteadin', In the Yard, Movin', Other Animals, Traveling Woman, Two Sticks and Yarn, Urban Homesteadin', Weatha. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Have I Been?

  1. peppylady says:

    I took a few minute and check out your two links. I have a lunch box some what like you posted on Greenist.
    Sound like things are starting to happen for you hope they continue on.

    Coffee is on.

  2. Michelle says:

    If you’re still commuting, you might consider foamy ear plugs for the bus ride… they’re nicely muting of surrounding noise.

Leave a Reply

