Food You Would Never Eat

When I was a vegetarian, the only thing I ate at my mother in law’s was grilled cheese sandwich. That’s the only meal her brain could wrap around. Despite making suggestions to her, she could not comprehend spaghetti without meat sauce, or soup without chicken. So I ate the grilled cheese sandwich because it’s what she made for me.

Recently I went to my grandmother’s birthday party which was held at the Wayside Inn. The food was awful. And I mean AWFUL. Because it was a large party, my uncles decided we would have a choice of turkey or beef. Both Wolf and I chose the turkey though neither of us finished our meals. The food was so processed it was nauseating. As a cousin ate his prime rib across from us, Wolf whispered in my ear “he’s eating meat glue.

As more and more of us choose to eat non-mainstream diets, it makes me wonder if we’re being excluded by those who care about us because they don’t know what food to serve. The agony our friends and family find themselves in trying to find a restaurant, or a meal everyone can eat, may be the reason for exclusion.

It’s a tough spot to be in. On the one hand, I don’t want to be excluded because no one knows what to make me but on the other hand, I don’t want to eat foods that make my physically sick (or just feel like crap) nor do I want to sit in an eatery and not eat anything.

So what are we to do?

This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Food, Glorious Food, Mi Familia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food You Would Never Eat

  1. . I have an issue with the American diet (SAD=Sad American Diet) But one can only lightly but not push one ideals on to anther.
    I would gather it was catered and that would be hard for someone like Wolf and your self to eat at.
    Unless you made agreement head of time.

    I believe a potluck would been a little easier to eat at. The two of you could bring some dishes…not to far fetch on dish.

    Right now I have a client who diet to me is just AWFUL and I had an apple in front of there daughter and she thought I came complete from outer space.
    It been a while but I got them eat a few healthy thing and actual like. But they still drink pop and diet pop but a lot less.

    It sound like the only thing they relate or know protein source is meat.

    I have a friend has this medical issue which ended up in a special hospital for environmental illness. So if she invited and she brings her own plate of food.
    If there to much trouble from other people she then tell them about her stay in the environmental hospital “Not a pretty picture”
    Then those who interested she try to educate them.

    So I guess I would say go easy on them no one want to be push.

    Coffee is on.

  2. Michelle says:

    Bring your own, perhaps? Eat before you go? It’s a hard situation, and I feel for you. I think it’s sensible and forward-thinking of you to address this, and brave of you to address it publicly.

  3. Administrator says:

    Wolf and I often eat before we go to parties so we aren’t tempted to eat the crap food. If it’s a pot luck we always bring enough to feed ourselves and to share. But that doesn’t solve the restaurant problem. You can’t bring your own food to a restaurant. And not eating while everyone else is is just rude and makes me feel incredibly left out.

Leave a Reply

