Elimination Diet

I went to a naturopath and discussed what was happening with my body to her. It cost $188 (a fuckton of money) but she was able to come to a conclusion: my entire digestive track is fucked up. From my teeth to to my butt, the whole system is in chaos. My GERD rarely gives me relief. The coping mechanisms I’ve used (ginger tea, tums, prilosec) have stopped compensating. The diarrhea hasn’t abated at all.

The naturopath suggested the elimination diet. I had already started it at the New Year by eliminating wheat but then I got the Occu-flu and stopped the diet until I got better. Now I am back to it and have upped the ante: I have eliminated dairy too.

It’s day four of the diet and already I’ve come to three conclusions: apples make my eyes itch quite intensely so there will be no more apples (pout). I snack way, way too much. I rely on dairy an awful lot. Giving up the wheat hasn’t been difficult. But dairy…OMG.

The GERD hasn’t abated, nor has the diarrhea. I’m hoping for positive changes over the course of the next few weeks due to the VSL#3 I was “prescribed” by the naturopath. It’s supposed to help by adding good flora into my digestive track. I just started taking that yesterday so I’ll have to wait and see.

Wolf is on board with me. He’s come to the conclusion he doesn’t want to be fat and sick all the time too. We know exercise is an important component so, as the weather warms, we will be adding walks to our routine. Sundays are now yoga days here at Howling Hill.

2012 will be the year of health here. It’s certainly the year of new newness: a new year, a new moon, a new decade. And, now, a new me.

This entry was posted in Cough/How Do I Look..?. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Elimination Diet

  1. Gayle Hannan says:

    Yeah! you will be feeling better before you know it. Keep the protein coming in small doses every 2-3 hours. It helps with keeping the blood sugar level and abates those dreadful sugar cravings. Works for me. I send you pink light blessings and Reiki in support of your becoming YOU!

  2. Soli says:

    You might want to take a look into the GAPS diet as well. It’s very strict in the beginning but a lot of people report success with it. I can direct you to some resources if you’re interested.

  3. melissa says:

    Goodluck to you! I hope you start to feel better soon.

  4. Administrator says:

    Thanks for your comments ladies!

    Soli, I’d be interested in those sources, please.

Leave a Reply

