Peace Kitties, Garden Catastrophe, and Garden Goodness

Peace Kitties 4.24.08

Harley and Francesca, dedicated peace activists, want the troops to come home.

Peace Kitties (2) 4.24.08

See, they know how to get along despite clashing philosophies! No guns, no bombs. Just kitty goodness.

Catastrophe 4.24.08

I have no idea what happened to my tomatoes. I have to start over I guess. I don’t have any soil so I’m pretty screwed until we can get some. The new moon is on May 5th so hopefully we can get some by then though I doubt it. Money coming in has to go to Dad’s memorial service.

Garlic 4.24.08

The garlic, however, is doing pissa. Wicked f’n pissa as a matter o’ fact.

Strutting 4.24.08

Francesca is a ham for the camera. Here I was trying to take a pick of the crocuses and she walked right into the frame.

Francesca 4.24.08

Here she is again being her uber cute self as always.

Wolf wants to take the plow off Bessie but I’m reluctant to do so. Seems to me snow will come as soon as he takes it off so I asked him to keep the plow on until August.

Harley 4.24.08

Harley hanging out in the shade. It’s really warm out there however, windy. The wind makes it feel cooler than it really is. That’s good but also bad. Because we haven’t had any rain it’s really dry here. And high winds with dry Earth, that makes for brush fire season. While I’m all for letting brush fires die out on their own, I do understand how detrimental that can be to property. So I have to balance what’s more important: property of wildlife. Most times I choose wildlife but sometimes I choose property. It’s hard though.

Check out Carnival of the Cats and Friday Ark

This entry was posted in Beasts, Gardenin'. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peace Kitties, Garden Catastrophe, and Garden Goodness

  1. Allie says:

    Aw! I’m so sorry to hear about your tomatoes! Seedlings can turn bad so fast!

    I just read something (can’t remember where) about using the bottoms of plastic bottles to plant seeds directly in the ground and make your own little greenhouse. Maybe that would work?

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Allie: it’s still too cold at night to be leaving the plants out, that’s why the tomatoes croaked because I left them out thinking it was warm enough.

    You can use plastic bottles as little green houses but I wouldn’t. When the plastic heats us it releases toxins which you’ll ingest when you eat the fruit/vegetable. Also, the toxins will leach into the soil.

    I’ve pondered this a lot. I want to be organic but plastic isn’t organic. Yet, I plant my seeds in plastic containers before I move them into the ground. Buying clay pots is expensive and requires a lot of space to store them. And transporting them in and out of the house twice a day isn’t easy. But I don’t know of another solution. Are you willing to put some brain power into it? I’ve been thinking about it for a few years and haven’t gotten anywhere.

  3. We agree, Bring the troops home. Sorry to hear about your tomatoe plants. That has happened to us before too.

  4. Quasi says:

    Francesca and Harley, you go, girls! Your activism is very appreciated. I’d like to tell you that I’ve written a scathingly funny book, The World Is Your Litter Box, which will be out in May. The book is cleverly disguised as a cute cat book so humans will buy it, but is, in fact, a how-to manual FOR cats. Check it out on my website, http://www.theworldisyourlitterbox.com.

  5. Howling Hill says:

    Yaffa & Sebastian: Harley and Francesca have been wanting the troops home since they were born.

    The tomato situation does suck but I have no one to blame but myself. I just have to start over next week.

    Quasi: Thank you! I’ll peruse your site.

Leave a comment