The Clothes Peg

I put a link to The Clothes Peg a blog from Project Laundry List on my blogroll. Please take a minute to peek at it.

And, for the record, here’s my laundry line. Nothing exciting I’m afraid.

Clothesline

What you can’t see in the picture is the clothesline continues off to the right. And it’s not enough line to handle all the laundry. Wolf has promised to build me one with wood but hasn’t gotten around to it. I can’t really describe how I want it to look besides this: two wooden “T” style posts with 4-5 ropes hanging between the posts. I’d like two of these style clothesline.

Check out this picture I got off wikipedia. Isn’t it awesome?

NYC postcard ~1904

What about your clothesline? Share with us!

This entry was posted in In the Yard, Linky Love, Organizations, Saving Our Glorious Earth. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Clothes Peg

  1. gavin says:

    Hi! I love my clothesline as well and have tried to get most of my neighbours involved with outdoor drying which is not to hard to do in Australia as we do have lovely weather most of the time.
    I have been following the laundrylist project for sometime and just cant believe that more people across the US do not dry clothes naturally!! I found a site the other day that has different stuff on clotheslines that I thought you maybe interested in its http://www.clotheslinereviews.com which has photos and even video of some guy installing clotheslines…which I thought might be handy for someone.
    Sorry I do get carried away sometimes!…great blog by the way.

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Gavin: Thanks for stopping by.

    “Americans” are more concerned with middle-class conformity than with saving the planet.

    Come back soon!

  3. peppylady says:

    I just posted about my laundry experience.
    But I forgot to tell about my mom old ringer washer.
    Plus I got a picture of our clothes line.

  4. Howling Hill says:

    Peppy: you’re awesome! Thanks for participating!

  5. betsymaple says:

    When I saw the photo of the european style lines above stretched everywhichway I remembered that I had even had a a clothesline when I lived on Mott Street in NYC – A Pulley out the kitchen window went cattycorner across a little greenspace below to the building where Andrew and Ernie lived, one on my floor, one above. In addition to hanging out our clothes and talking back and forth across the space, we sometimes pinned penned notes to each other-no cell phones of course this was the 60s. andrew would be so kind as to take a note upstairs to Ernie and Ernie used Andrew to ease his response. thanks t oa trip last Spring to the Lower East Side Tenement Museum, I know a lot more about how the folks who lived in the garment district when those Mott Street buildings were new really lived -that garden below my window was the communal outhouse and spigot.

  6. Howling Hill says:

    Betsy: what a wonderful story of human connection!

Leave a comment