Outwitted

Little Miss Siren

For the last week or so we’ve been visited by a very cute female black cat. A couple nights ago she went into heat and has been serenading us with her siren song since.

I borrowed a Havahart trap from my neighbor. Wolf set it up last night so we can catch Little Miss Siren, bring her to the shelter, and find her a nice home. I put some tuna in a bowl.

Well, Little Miss Siren outwitted us. She ate the tuna without closing the doors. I hate being outsmarted by a being with the brain the size of a walnut.

The trap has two doors, one at either end. Setting the trap requires both doors to be open but that seems so counterintuitive to me. Wolf smeared a small amount of tuna on the trigger but I didn’t feel that was enough so I put a bowl into the trap, just behind the trigger. Then I put the watering can near one of the doors as a way to block it. Totally didn’t work.

So, dear readers, how do I catch this kitty with this Havaheart trap? She’s still chortling out there. As soon as I let my cats out she’s going to bolt and I don’t want that to happen.

Check out Carnival of the Cats and Friday Ark


Edited to add: Harley, my cat, went out and ate the tuna smeared on the trigger. Doing so did not trip the trigger. I watched him stick his head in, eat, walk over the trigger, then eat the rest. Something is totally wrong here.

This entry was posted in Other Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outwitted

  1. Hmm, that is a very good question. We have never used those traps before. Although we need some here in Brooklyn, I see strays all over my neighborhood. Hahaha, I can’t believe Harley ate the tuna and didn’t set off the trap…

  2. Howling Hill says:

    Yaffa & Sebastian: Thanks for stopping by.

    I don’t often see stray/feral cats around here because it’s so rural. But I know they’re out there.

    Little Miss Siren has not been around for the last couple days. Maybe she got eaten or moved onto greener pastures. I hope she’s ok and not pregnant.

  3. Pingback: Success! « Howling Hill

Leave a comment