Seed Order

Wolf and I are a little behind in bills this month. This happens every December/January because we have to register our cars in the months we were born. That’s the way they do it in NH and, with our bdays within 30 days of each other, the State takes what little surplus we have. Because we’re behind we haven’t sent in our seed order yet. I really want to get it to High Mowing but I can’t until the cash comes in — hopefully before February.

Regardless, here’s what we plan on ordering. We’re only putting one order in this year. Normally I get stuff from Fedco too but not this year. No particular reason to be honest…I just didn’t.

  • Red Express Cabbage
  • Comic Purple Carrots We got these last year and they did pretty well here in central NH. The carrots have a slight bite to them…just a smidge spicy. Very yummy.
  • Yellowstone Carrots
  • National Pickling Cucumbers
  • Gladstone Onions
  • Cortland F1 Hybrid Onions
  • Varna Leeks
  • All Red Potato
  • Yukon Gold
  • Ryegrass
  • Renegade F1 Hybrid Spinach
  • Giant Winter Spinach
  • Dark Green Zucchini
  • Success PM Straightneck
  • Table Queen Acorn Squash
  • Scotia Tomato Lets hope we have better luck with tomatoes this year than we did last year. 2009 brought us a tomato blight which pretty much sucked.
  • Sweetie Cherry
  • San Marzano Tomato
  • Yellow Pear Tomato I grew these a couple years back and they did very well. Lets hope for a repeat!
  • Lemon Balm
  • Bouquet Dill
  • The biggest issue we’ve had with our garden the last two years is the lack of warmth in the summer. Both 2008 and 2009 brought us wet springs/early summers with cool temps throughout the remainder of the summer so nothing has grown in abundance (except frustration).

    A major part of the problem is the tall trees here on Howling Hill. I know I’ve talked about this before (I’m being lazy and not looking up previous posts) so I won’t go into too much detail but I’m not spending $1000 to have trees taken down. Wolf and I really want to move and in order to do so we need to be able to save. To put aside $1000 would be attaining a big goal and I’m not about to spend that money on trees. After all, it’s a 1000 dollars closer to a house on farmland.

    For those looking to purchase seeds from local seed companies, Mother Earth News has this list. of seed companies listed by state. Pretty awesome. Poached from the comments in this post.

    This entry was posted in Seeds. Bookmark the permalink.

    8 Responses to Seed Order

    1. Allie says:

      I have never had much luck starting seeds inside. And, actually, this year, I think I’m just going to keep up with the strawberries and plant some apple trees in the garden – small orchard. What we spend the most money on at the farmer’s market is fruit, and I really need to keep the garden lower maintenance. But I don’t think I could bear to turn it back to lawn.

    2. Howling Hill says:

      I don’t start seeds inside anymore for three reasons. First, is because there just isn’t enough room in the house. Second, there isn’t enough light in the house. Third, I have two cats. I do dream of the day when I can start seeds inside but that’s not going to be for a while.

    3. Nice seed order. I haven’t sent mine in yet either. Happy B-day to you both!

      Karyn

    4. Pingback: Seed Order « Howling Hill

    5. Pingback: Things to Do and Goings-on « Howling Hill

    6. Pingback: Garden Update « Howling Hill

    7. Pingback: Seed Saving

    8. Pingback: Seed Saving

    Leave a comment